Arthur C Clarke Award for Literature

Arthur C Clarke Award 2011

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain.

The annual award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and selected from a shortlist of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year.

The Award was originally established by a generous grant from Sir Arthur C. Clarke with the aim of promoting science fiction in Britain, and is currently administered by the Serendip Foundation with Sir Arthur continuing to donate a cash prize via Rocket Publishing, his UK representatives.

The six shortlisted books are:

  • Greg Bear, Hull Zero Three
  • Drew Magary, The End Specialist
    (Harper Voyager)
  • China Miéville, Embassytown
  • Jane Rogers, The Testament of Jessie Lamb
  • (Sandstone Press)
  • Charles Stross, Rule 34
  • Sheri S.Tepper, The Waters Rising

The winner is announced at the festival on Wed 2 May, 2012.

Arthur C Clarke Nominations 2012


Apollo Piccadilly Circus

Screening Times

8:00pm - Wed, 2nd May 2012
Invitation Only